About CNS

Capital News Service is a student-powered news organization run by the Philip Merrill College of Journalism. For two decades, we have provided deeply reported, award-winning coverage of issues of import to Marylanders.

With bureaus in College Park, Annapolis and Washington run by professional journalists, we deliver news in multiple multimedia formats via partner news organizations, a destination Web site, a nightly on-air television newscast and affiliated social media channels (including Twitter and Facebook). We provide breaking news coverage, in-depth investigative and enterprise journalism, and serve as a laboratory for students to test and develop innovative new methods of reporting and telling stories.

By providing a true newsroom experience to our students, we send them into the job market with real-world skills and the ability to shape the future of journalism.  Only Merrill’s most motivated students are accepted into the Capital News Service program, and they go on to land internships and jobs at the nation’s finest news organizations: The New York Times, the Washington Post, CNN, the Associated Press, Politico, the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, ProPublica, National Geographic, NBC News, The Dallas Morning News, the Washington City Paper, Washingtonian magazine, Money magazine, the Wall Street Journal and more.  

Supporters of 2016 CNS Convention Coverage

Thank you to all of our alumni, staff, faculty and friends who supported our crowdfunding campaign, “Supporting Student Powered CNS”. We were able to raise $15,040 to help alleviate costs associated with the democratic and republican conventions taking place this summer. We’re excited to provide in-depth coverage of these events. Your support of our journalists is invaluable and we cannot thank you enough. We’ll see you in Cleveland and Philadelphia!

Lele Ashworth
Sandra Banisky
Tony Barbieri
Marie Beaudette
Tom Bettag
Lolly Bowean
Clint Bucco
Betsy and Paul Bylis
Maria P. N. Chin
Ira Chinoy
Merrilee Cox
Ralph Crosby
Lucy Dalglish
Tom Dennison
Jim DeSimone
Robert Doherty
Amy Elliott
Chris Ender
Adrianne Flynn
Chris Frates
Chris Harvey
Lisa Helfert
John C. Henry
Arelis Hernandez
John Hubbard
Jay Kernis
Stephen Kilar
Kevin Klose
Michelle Krupa
Rafael Lorente
Madeline Marshall
Karen Masterson
Catherine Matacic
Stephen Mather
Mark Matthews
Alexandra Moe
Sean Mussenden
National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Leslie Nissenberg
Jackie Oberst
Adam Ostrow
David Ottalini
Lauren Pavlech
Frank Quine
Katherine Richards
Carol L. Rogers
Joseph Sandri
Roy Schwartz
Chris Sherman
Walter and Susan Stern
Dennis Ting
Mike Torralba
Eric Townsend
Leslie Walker